Home Results News Table Squad Statistics

Liam Parker celebrates

FC United of Manchester 1-3 Boston United

FA Trophy

Boston United progressed into the first round of the FA Trophy with their second win of the season at FC United of Manchester. They began the game missing Kieran Leabon and David Farrell out injured, Michael Wood out suspended and Jon Rowan and Ryan Clarke unable to play due to work commitments. This lead to the bench being made up of youngsters, including 17 year old goalkeeper Aaron Butcher. The kickoff to the match was delayed by fifteen minutes due to congestion at the turnstiles at Gigg Lane. Boston were soon under pressure and Martyn Margarson had to make two impressive saves in the opening minutes. Boston's first chance saw Adam Millson break clear but his cross to Froggatt was just too far in front to allow him to connect. Boston took the lead in the 33rd minute when Matthews broke down the right before crossing to Froggatt at the back post who headed the ball back across the goal to Ollie RYAN who stabbed the ball into the net from close range.

Just before half-time Liam PARKER extended Boston's lead when he headed home Liam Green's corner kick. Boston went three up in the 63rd minute when Liam PARKER scored another headed goal from a Liam Green corner. FC United got a goal back five minutes later when a long range shot by Papis DIEYTE took a huge deflection off Wes Parker to give Margarson no chance as the ball looped over him. The gap could have been closed further a few minutes later but Nick Robinson couldn't direct his shot into the net and it crossed harmlessly across the face of the goal. Oliie Ryan had a clear sight of goal but Sam Ashton was able to push his chip shot over the bar. A free kick from just outside the box taken by Chris Baguley was then palmed over the bar by Margarson. Despite five minutes of time being added on, no further goals were scored and Boston went through to the first round and a home tie against AFC Telford United.

Boston United: Martyn Margarson, Liam Parker, Tom Matthews, Liam Green, Matt Bloomer, Adam Millson, Wes Parker, Steve Melton, Stewart Talbot (Lee Beeson 67), Jon Froggatt, Ollie Ryan (Ewan Clarke 89). Subs not used: Alex Beck, Mitchell Griffiths, Aaron Butcher.

Match report and photograph copyright © Ken Fox 2008.